

NEWS RELEASE From Mayor Dean DePiero

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Friday, December 5, 2008 Contact: Jack P. Marschall (440) 885-8181 or (216) 346-9935 (cell)

PARMA MAYOR DePIERO ELECTED PRESIDENT OF OHIO MUNICIPAL LEAGUE

(**Columbus**) – Parma Mayor Dean DePiero has been elected President of the Ohio Municipal League. Mayor DePiero's election came during a meeting in Columbus comprised of OML member cities and villages. He was currently serving as the organization's second vice-president.

"I am both flattered and excited by my election to head-up this great organization," said Mayor DePiero. "As we all know, these are tough times for municipalities across Ohio. I look forward to working with the league as a team and using my experience to help assist city and village administrators navigate their way through the next few years."

Mayor DePiero was re-elected to his second term as Mayor of Parma in November, 2007. Prior to initially taking office on January 1, 2004, Mayor DePiero represented the 15th Ohio House District for five years. He served as House Democratic leader – the highest ranking party member in the legislative body. Mayor DePiero also represented the residents of the City of Parma, Ward 4, as their council representative from 1995 to 1998.

Mayor DePiero serves on the executive committee of the Cuyahoga County Mayors and Managers Association and is a board member of the Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District. He is also a past board member of the Northeast Ohio Area Coordinating Agency.

Mayor DePiero was asked to serve on the Governor Strickland's transition team as an advisor as well as to review the Ohio Lottery Commission.

The Ohio Municipal League was incorporated as an Ohio non-profit corporation in 1952 by city and village officials who saw the need for a statewide association to serve the interests of Ohio municipal government.

The Ohio Municipal League is governed by a Board of Trustees, elected by the membership. The Board consists of all past presidents of the League, as long as they are municipal officials, and 28 Trustees elected for two-year terms.